Abhinav fails to make the lower


Former India opener Abhinav Mukund doesn’t discover a place within the Tamil Nadu squad for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 event.

Matches in group ‘B’, that features Tamil Nadu, might be held in Thiruvananthapuram from November eight to 17. State facet’s principal challengers from the pool are Uttar Pradesh, Vidarbha, Rajasthan and host Kerala. The highest two groups progress to the following stage.

Explaining Abhinav’s omission, M. Senthilnathan, chairman of the State choice panel, prolonged the horses for programs argument.

He mentioned to The Hindu right here on Tuesday, “Abhinav had a fantastic Vijay Hazare event the place we did very effectively to succeed in the ultimate. However the panel felt his sport is extra suited to Ranji Trophy and one-day cricket the place he’s an automated selection.”

Onerous determination

Senthil elaborated, “Abhinav doesn’t play quite a lot of Twenty20 cricket too. We mentioned his title. It was a tough determination to depart him out.”

The choice panel chief added, “And we’ve got children resembling N. Jagadeesan and Hari Nishaanth who’ve performed effectively up the order in Twenty20 cricket. Then we additionally possess the skilled M. Vijay who has had his moments on this format.”

The Dinesh Karthik-led crew additionally has star off-spin bowling all-rounder R. Ashwin. Senthil mentioned, “Ashwin might be there with us until the Take a look at collection begins towards Bangladesh. Then Washington Sundar will be part of the crew, after the completion of the Twenty20 collection towards Bangladesh.”

Periyaswamy in

G. Periyaswamy, the slinger who caught everybody’s consideration on this yr’s version of the TNPL, finds a spot too.

Senthil mentioned, “Periyaswamy has a novel motion and it isn’t simple to select him. However it was a tricky selection between him and Athisiyaraj Davidson, who too is a slinger. Within the occasion of an harm, Athisiyaraj might be part of the crew.”

The crew is predicted to have a brief camp in Chennai, Tirunelveli or Dindigul — relying on rain in these areas — from October 31 to November 5 earlier than leaving for Thiruvananthapuram.

The squad: Dinesh Karthik (captain), Vijay Shankar (vice-captain), M. Vijay, N. Jagadeesan, C. Hari Nishaanth, B. Aparajith, M. Shahrukh Khan, R. Ashwin, M. Ashwin, R. Sai Kishore, T. Natarajan, G. Periyaswamy, Ok. Vignesh, M. Mohammad, J. Kousik.

Washington Sundar will be part of the crew after the completion of the Twenty20 collection towards Bangladesh.

You’ve got reached your restrict totally free articles this month.

Register to The Hindu totally free and get limitless entry for 30 days.

Subscription Advantages Embrace

At the moment’s Paper

Discover mobile-friendly model of articles from the day’s newspaper in a single easy-to-read checklist.

Limitless Entry

Take pleasure in studying as many articles as you want with none limitations.

Personalised suggestions

A choose checklist of articles that match your pursuits and tastes.

Quicker pages

Transfer easily between articles as our pages load immediately.


A one-stop-shop for seeing the newest updates, and managing your preferences.


We temporary you on the newest and most necessary developments, 3 times a day.

*Our Digital Subscription plans don’t presently embody the e-paper ,crossword, iPhone, iPad cell functions and print. Our plans improve your studying expertise.