APL 2019: Afghanistan Cricket Board postpone the second season to subsequent yr


Subsequent yr, the ACB will challenge a young for sanctioning of rights for the APL.

Balkh Legends
Balkh Legends. (Photograph Supply: Twitter)

Ten years after India’s IPL modified the face of cricket the Afghanistan Premier League (APL) had joined the rising listing of T20 tournaments worldwide. It was a proud second for Afghanistan final yr that added a touch of glamour with their inaugural Twenty20 league within the United Arab Emirates. However lately their cricket board (ACB) has determined to postpone the second season as a consequence of a battle with Snixer Sports activities.

It was anticipated that the match will quickly get rolled out in 2019 after its success final yr. Within the first season many massive gamers like Chris Gayle, Shahid Afridi, Rashid Khan, and Brendon McCullum amongst others featured in it. The pyrotechnics weren’t lengthy coming however 20-year-old Hazratullah Zazai’s extraordinary six sixes in a single over drew everybody’s consideration in direction of it.

What’s the motive behind the postponement?

The explanation behind terminating the league for one yr was the shortcoming of Snixer Sports activities to pay the entire rights charges of the primary version as per the charges and cost schedule of the settlement in response to the ACB’s official web site. Snixer Sports activities held the industrial rights of APL in 2018 however the ACB won’t enable them to function the league sooner or later.

ACB is in no good temper and has additionally introduced that subsequent yr a young will probably be issued for the sanctioning of rights for the league. They’ve additionally written to Legal professional Common’s Workplace of the Authorities of Afghanistan to completely examine the executive allegations of corruption within the league and are dedicated to making sure transparency in all its affairs and are accountable to all stakeholders.

The primary season of this league that was held in UAE throughout October 2018, had 5 groups named as Balkh Legends, Kabul, Zwanan, Kandahar Knights, Nangarhar Leopards, and Pakita Panthers. Out of those groups, Balkh Legends led by Mohammed Nabi lifted the trophy after beating Kabul Zwanan by four wickets.

Watch – 5 Gamers who ought to’ve retired after 2019 World Cup however didn’t