Bumrah, Mandhana win Wisden India Almanack Cricketer of the Yr award


Premier quick bowler Jasprit Bumrah and batswoman Smriti Mandhana are the 2 Indian names among the many 5 winners of the distinguished Wisden India Almanack Cricketer of the Yr award which was introduced on Friday.

The opposite winners from Asia are Pakistan batsman Fakhar Zaman, Sri Lankan batsman Dimuth Karunaratne and Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan.

The seventh version of the annual cricket publication for 2019 and 2020 additionally options Mayank Agarwal for his stellar home run resulting in a profitable Check call-up.

Mandhana is the third girl to be named ‘Cricketer of the Yr’, after Mithali Raj and Deepti Sharma.

Stalwarts Gundappa Viswanath and Lala Amarnath have been inducted into the Wisden India Corridor of Fame.

Cricket Nation: The Untold Historical past of the First All India Staff by Prashant Kidambi has been adjudged the Wisden India E-book of the Yr.

The Almanack reviewer described it as “a tribute to the sport’s Indianness” that “fantastically describes and analyses the tour (Indians in England 1911) and the politics that led as much as it”.

You might have reached your restrict at no cost articles this month.

Register to The Hindu at no cost and get limitless entry for 30 days.

Subscription Advantages Embody

At this time’s Paper

Discover mobile-friendly model of articles from the day’s newspaper in a single easy-to-read checklist.

Limitless Entry

Get pleasure from studying as many articles as you want with none limitations.

Personalised suggestions

A choose checklist of articles that match your pursuits and tastes.

Sooner pages

Transfer easily between articles as our pages load immediately.


A one-stop-shop for seeing the newest updates, and managing your preferences.


We transient you on the newest and most essential developments, thrice a day.

*Our Digital Subscription plans don’t at the moment embody the e-paper ,crossword, iPhone, iPad cell purposes and print. Our plans improve your studying expertise.