ICC declares schedule for U19 World Cup 2020


The event will start on January 17 2020.

ICC U19 World Cup Trophy
(Photograph Supply: ICC)

Hosts South Africa will open their marketing campaign towards Afghanistan in subsequent 12 months’s ICC U19 Cricket World Cup, a event that showcases the world’s future cricket stars. South Africa, hosts in 1998 and champions in 2014, play their opening match on the Diamond Oval in Kimberley on 17 January. The United Arab Emirates and Canada are the opposite groups they must cope with in Group D of the 16-team event, the ultimate of which is scheduled for 9 February.

In different matches slated over the primary few days, New Zealand tackle Japan who might be making their debut in an ICC international occasion on the North-West College Oval In Potchefstroom on 18 January whereas defending champions India play Sri Lanka on the Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein on 19 January. Nigeria, who’re additionally making their ICC occasion debut will face Australia in Kimberley on 20 Jan for his or her opening recreation.

Benoni and Kimberley are the opposite host cities for the 13th version of the event, being performed as per the format utilized in earlier editions, with the second section dividing the groups into Tremendous League and Plate tournaments. The highest two groups from every of the 4 teams advance to the Tremendous League whereas the remaining groups function within the Plate championship.

The JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom might be a key venue because it hosts two Tremendous League quarterfinals, each semi-finals and the ultimate.

The highest 11 full Members within the final version in New Zealand and the 5 regional champions, who’ve certified for the occasion, may even play warm-up matches from 12-15 January in Johannesburg and Pretoria. Nigeria (Africa) additionally make an look for the primary time together with Japan (East Asia Pacific). Nigeria (Africa) and Japan (East Asia Pacific) are joined by different regional qualifiers Canada (Americas), United Arab Emirates (Asia) and Scotland (Europe).

ICC Head of Occasions Chris Tetley feedback

ICC Head of Occasions Chris Tetley: “The U19 Cricket World Cup is an important occasion in our calendar because it brings collectively the world’s most promising younger gamers in a significant ICC event, giving them the expertise of competing on the worldwide stage.

“We now have some wonderful venues for this event, and we’re providing free entry to all matches giving cricket followers in South Africa the chance to look at the following era of superstars. I want all of the groups the perfect of their preparations for the event and to Cricket South Africa in organising the occasion.”

Match Director Sivuyile Mqingwana: “CSA is delighted to be internet hosting this prestigious occasion that additional nurtures the celebrities of tomorrow. We look ahead to internet hosting followers and guests from everywhere in the world and hope our cricketing visitors and different sports activities vacationers will get pleasure from each world-class cricket motion, in addition to the nice treasures that ‘Mzansi’ has to supply.

“This ICC U19 cricket showpiece affords our nation’s cricket group the chance to look at the world’s greatest younger gamers up shut and private.”

A few of the world’s greatest gamers have showcased their expertise at earlier editions of the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup together with top-ranked Check batsman Steve Smith, top-ranked ODI and T20I batsman Virat Kohli, England Check captain Joe Root andNew Zealand captain Kane Williamson.

South Africa have seen a number of high gamers like Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla, Dean Elgar, Wayne Parnell, Quinton de Kock and Kagiso Rabada make it massive in worldwide cricket after first catching the attention throughout U19 World Cups. Different gamers to have featured in previous editions embody Brian Lara (West Indies), Michael Atherton (England), Michael Clarke (Australia), Virender Sehwag (India) Inzamam-ul-Haq (Pakistan) and Rashid Khan (Afghanistan).

India have received the title 4 instances, Australia have received thrice, Pakistan have received it twice whereas England, South Africa and the West Indies have received as soon as every.


Group A: India, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Japan

Group B: Australia, England, West Indies, Nigeria

Group C: Pakistan, Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, Scotland

Group D: Afghanistan, South Africa, UAE, Canada

Right here’s the schedule:

ICC U19 World Cup
(Photograph Supply: ICC)