KL Rahul dropped, Shubman Gill will get maiden call-up in India’s Take a look at squad for SA sequence


Opener Okay L Rahul was on Thursday dropped from India’s Take a look at squad whereas proficient teenager Shubman Gill was rewarded for his stupendous latest type with a call-up for the three-match sequence towards South Africa subsequent month.

Rahul’s dropping paves the way in which for Rohit Sharma to take the opening slot within the aspect.

“We need to give Rohit Sharma a possibility to open the innings in Checks,” Chairman of selectors MSK Prasad mentioned after the assembly to choose the squad right here.

Pacer Umesh Yadav, who was within the squad for the latest West Indies tour, was additionally dropped.

Rohit will captain the Board President’s XI, which is able to tackle the South Africans in a three-day tour match in Vizianagaram from September 26.

The 20-year-old Gill’s inclusion was on anticipated strains after he top-scored for India A within the tour of West Indies and was adjudged man of the sequence. He grew to become the youngest Indian to attain a first-class double hundred throughout the sequence.

His exclusion from the senior group for the Caribbean task final month was extensively criticised.

India’s first Take a look at towards South Africa will begin in Visakhapatnam on October 2, whereas the second and third video games will likely be held in Pune (October 10-14) and Ranchi (October 19-23) respectively.

The Squads:

Take a look at Squad: Virat Kohli (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (Wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (Wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill.

Board President’s XI: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, AR Easwaran, Karun Nair, Siddhesh Lad, KS Bharat (wicket-keeper), Jalaj Saxena, Dharmendrasinh Jadeja, Avesh Khan, Ishan Porel, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav.