Pakistan vs Sri Lanka: Hosts announce the 15-man squad for the ODI sequence


Hafeez has been ignored whereas Shaheen Afridi and Hasan Ali are injured.

Pakistan team
Pakistan workforce. (Picture Supply: CHRISTIAAN KOTZE/AFP/Getty Pictures)

Pakistan is about to host Sri Lanka at house for a three-match ODI sequence beginning on September 27. All of the matches of the sequence might be performed in Karachi with the three T20 Internationals to observe which Lahore will host. The hosts have now introduced the 15-man squad for the 50-over contest with some notable names. That is additionally the primary task of Pakistan’s new coach-cum-selector Misbah-ul-Haq.

The all-rounder Mohammad Nawaz and the batsman Iftikhar Ahmed have earned call-ups to the nationwide workforce for the sequence. Nawaz performed the Asia Cup final yr however he did not justify the all-rounder and ultimately misplaced his place within the aspect, whereas Iftikhar performed two ODIs again in 2015 and was out of the reckoning since then. Nevertheless, each of them have been awarded for his or her spectacular present within the home area.

Nawaz scored an unbeaten ton within the final week’s first-class sport in opposition to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa which labored in his favour. Iftikhar, however, slammed two centuries and a fifty in three successive innings within the home 50-over competitors in April this yr.

Hafeez dropped whereas Shaheen and Hasan Ali injured

Mohammad Hafeez is the notable identify lacking from the squad which featured within the World Cup. He didn’t have an amazing match in England and it appears that evidently the administration has determined to maneuver on from him. Shoaib Malik retired from the ODIs after the mega occasion whereas Shaheen Afridi and Hasan Ali too should not the a part of the squad.

Whereas the left-arm pacer is down with Dengue, Hasan continues to wrestle along with his troubled again. The latter additionally had a lukewarm World Cup which had led to him shedding his place from the XI through the competitors. Other than Nawaz and Iftikhar, Usman Khan and Abid Ali have additionally returned to the setup whereas Junaid Khan has as soon as once more missed out on making the minimize.

Pakistan ODI squad: Sarfaraz Ahmed (c), Babar Azam, Abid Ali, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Hasnain, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Usman Khan Shinwari, Wahab Riaz.

Watch – 10 Costly vehicles owned by Indian cricketers