Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy 2019-20: Dinesh Karthik to guide Tamil Nadu; squad introduced


Washington Sundar will be part of the crew after the T20I matches versus Bangladesh finish.

Dinesh Karthik
Dinesh Karthik. (Picture Supply: Twitter)

After main the Tamil Nadu crew into the finals of Vijay Hazare one-day event, Dinesh Karthik has been chosen to guide the crew within the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy as effectively, which is meant to get underway on November eight. The T20 occasion will probably be performed until December 1, 2019. The crew has been positioned in Group B.

All of the matches of Group B involving Tamil Nadu will probably be performed in Thiruvananthapuram from November eight to 17. Different groups on this group are Uttar Pradesh, Vidarbha, Rajasthan, and host Kerala. The highest two groups progress to the subsequent stage. Nonetheless, in huge information, opener Abhinav Mukund, who batted amazingly effectively within the Vijay Hazare Trophy, didn’t discover a spot within the T20 format crew for the upcoming T20 league.

Vijay Shankar named Karthik’s deputy

All-rounder Vijay Shankar has been named Dinesh Karthik’s deputy and M. Senthilnathan, chairman of the State choice panel gave a press release on the omission of Abhinav Mukund. “Abhinav had a tremendous Vijay Hazare event the place we did very effectively to achieve the ultimate. However the panel felt his recreation is extra suited to Ranji Trophy and one-day cricket the place he’s an automated selection,” he was quoted as saying by Sportstar.

“And we have now children resembling N. Jagadeesan and Hari Nishaanth who’ve completed effectively up the order in Twenty20 cricket. Then we additionally possess the skilled M. Vijay who has had his moments on this format,” he additional added. In the meantime, Senthilnathan additionally cleared that R Ashwin is on the market for Tamil Nadu till the Exams in opposition to Bangladesh start, whereas Washington Sundar will be part of the crew after the T20I matches finish.

The one new face to be included within the crew was quick bowler G Periaswamy, who made identify for himself within the Tamil Nadu Premier League for Chepauk Tremendous Gillies. He has a slingy motion much like Lasith Malinga and is among the most fun faces to play within the recreation. The crew is anticipated to have a brief camp in Chennai, Tirunelveli or Dindigul — relying on rain in these areas — from October 31 to November 5 earlier than leaving for Thiruvananthapuram.

Tamil Nadu squad for Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy:

Dinesh Karthik (captain), Vijay Shankar (vice-captain), M. Vijay, N. Jagadeesan, C. Hari Nishaanth, B. Aparajith, M. Shahrukh Khan, R. Ashwin, M. Ashwin, R. Sai Kishore, T. Natarajan, G. Periyaswamy, Okay. Vignesh, M. Mohammad, J. Kousik.